The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 209 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#88648 - 09/17/06 11:12 AM Should i fly to NY to see my son?
von62653 Offline
stranger

Loc: South Florida
Yesterday, my son(28)who's a welder by trade was burned at work and air-lifted to a hospital in Syracuse, NY. He has third degree burns on one hand and and flash burns on his face. The doctor said he would be fine but would have to have skin grafts on his hand. I called the hospital last night and they told me he was doing well and on constant pain medicine.

According my 31 year old daughter and my ex-husband, he will be in the hospital for 3 or 4 days and will be out of work for six to eight weeks.

My dilemna - I live in Florida, he's in NY. It's a crucial time for me to be at work right now, however, I feel like I should fly to NY now. Another dilemna - I don't have the extra cash to do so now but I'll come up with the money somehow.

My partner thinks it's foolish for me to go up when there's nothing I can do and (as he keeps reminding me) my son is 28 years old. I, being his mother, feel like I should be there.

Tell me mothers - should I go up now? should I see if he'll need help when he gets home? Should I just keep in touch from down here?

#88649 - 09/17/06 12:10 PM Re: Should i fly to NY to see my son? [Re: von62653]
Di Offline

Loc: NM, transplant from NJ
Even though i am not a mother, my DH was burned several years back and his mother was there. She, too, lived in another state. however the company he worked for paid her way.

Ask if they have provisions. They might at least pay half.