The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 158 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Topic Options
#127860 - 09/14/07 04:25 AM Opposite of your job (stereo)type?
orchid Offline

Loc: British Columbia, Canada
Just learned from a major running magazine, that Cat Cora, the sole female Iron Chef amongst the panethon of Irons Chefs on Tv....jogs regularily. She certainly fights against natural tendencies/temptations in her job as chef!

Do you do personal stuff/activities that are the total opposite/antithesis of your job/profession?

May sound wierd...but I don't read alot anymore..and I'm a librarian. I do digestable reading..magazines,etc. And a novel/book tends to take a long drawn out time, because lack of my own patience to sit for hrs. reading just a book.

And I haven't been motivated to join a book club ...yet. Yet librarians do strongly encourage this...for literacy combined with socializing.

In other areas I do correctly fit in my job type ,is interest in a range of different subject areas, joy of creative /associative memory, learning-on-the-fly, some capacity for technical ability, etc.

How about you?

#127861 - 09/14/07 04:32 PM Re: Opposite of your job (stereo)type? [Re: orchid]
Edelweiss Offline

Loc: American living in Europe
Asking what a person does professionally is a very American thing to do. I think it's one of the first questions anyone asks.
Here in Germany they wouldn't think of asking you that. They ask about your hobbies, where you travel etc. but not what you do. If they ask that, then they usually get an answer as to where the person works, but not what he does. It took me a long time to get used to that