The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 145 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#67766 - 04/15/05 10:14 AM possums
meredithbead Offline
The Divine Ms M

Loc: Orange County, California
This is my first time ever in the Pet Forum! This really isn't about a pet, but it's an animal thang so I thought I'd post here.

Two nights ago around 1am (yes, I was still awake and online) I heard this huge clatter. It was so loud that initially I thought it was my husband going through his closet junk or something.

It was a possum, right at my front door.

I've seen them for years, but mostly hanging out by the tree at the side of the house and eating my avocados. This one was foraging through the extra plant containers under the shelf by the door. It had a plastic bag (which we keep outside in case anyone gets inspired to weed) curled in its tail.

I tried banging on the window. It looked up, then continued foraging.

I opened the front door and stepped outside. The possum glanced at me, and continued to muck around the plastic bags. I didn't want to get close, because sometimes they bite if cornered.

The next morning, all the junk that's neatly stored under the ledge was dragged out all over, including a bag of potting soil that's about 3 lbs. I doubt the possum weighs much more than that. There were shredded plastic bags.

I'm guessing that the possum is building a nest, that's why the bag curled in its tail.