The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 194 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Topic Options
#42119 - 06/23/06 02:32 AM Breaking into Print
Mary Yerkes Offline

Loc: Eastern United States
Hello! I'm a professional writer with a trade association right outside of Washington, DC, and an award-winning freelance writer--published primarily in the evangelical Christian market.

I'm interested in doing more work in the general market and wonder if anyone could give me some suggestions for breaking into magazines like Family Circle, Redbook, or other family-friendly magazines?

I've had only one piece published in the general market (http://www.beliefnet.com/story/178/story_17808_1.html) , and I just learned a second made it to the final round in Chicken Soup for the Soul Healthy Living: Arthritis. I should learn shortly whether it makes the final cut.

I'd love some suggestions from those of you getting published in these markets.

Mary Yerkes
www.maryyerkes.com

#42120 - 06/23/06 03:06 AM Re: Breaking into Print
jawjaw Offline
Da Queen

Loc: Alabama
Welcome Mary,
I see you've interviewed Ruth Graham. She had the table next to Pam Kimmell and I at a book festival last year. A very warm individual. I like your web site and I'm sure everyone here will jump in and give you good sound advice.

Please do stick around and enjoy yourself. You simply won't find a better place on the Internet.

JJ

#42121 - 06/23/06 10:50 PM Re: Breaking into Print
Vicki M. Taylor Offline

Loc: Tampa, FL
Mary, one of the best things to do if you want to break into those magazines is read them. Get to know what they look for and what they print. Then, emulate that and submit similarly written pieces.

Here are the writing guidelines for Family Circle