And I'm so excited for you.

I want to come back to the post you just wrote, but I want to send you that list of things to see in D.C. that I promised so long ago. I didn't realize you were leaving so soon! (Let me know how the Arkansas diamond-mining thing goes. My son's been wanting to go there. Poker, diamond-mining -- he's always on the lookout for some quick way to make a buck, and he thinks we ought to pack up and camp out in Arkansas until we've mined enough to fill New Paint from stem to stern.)

(Question -- it sounds like you were personally affected by the Oklahoma City bombings? I'm a newbie to BWS, so don't know you as well as the other ladies do, but it sounds like you experienced the trauma of that day firsthand?)
____

Washington D.C. ideas -- No particular order, and I'm not even going to try to be neat or pay attention to grammar or punctuation. Just a brain-dump. For phone numbers, area code is 202:

1. Obviously, all the Mall must-sees -- White House, Capitol, Lincoln Memorial, Smithsonian (www.si.edu ) and all the great, free museums. National Archives with the REAL Declaration of Independence (Alex should get a kick out of that), the Air and Space Museum
( www.nasm.edu ) -- every kid's favorite (and, I've read, the most visited museum on earth). The National Museum of American History (americanhistory.si.edu) has lots of fun exhibits for kids - George Washington's tent to Oscar's Sesame Street garbage can. The Washington Monument, which is once again open. You can climb to the top. The Vietnam Memorial is incredibly moving. Just walking slowly and reading and touching the thousands of names has a powerful impact.
2. A good way to tour the city is via the Tourmobile. you can hop on and off all day long, and it's narrated, so you know what you're looking at.
3. The new National Museum of the American Indian. On the Mall. Given your Cherokee heritage and your knowledge of native cultures, you can help Alex connect with his roots.