The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 202 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Topic Options
#36323 - 07/30/03 01:29 AM boy toys
Sandy Offline

Loc: Colorado
I graduated high school in 1972. now everyone knows my age. anyway. back then girls took cooking and sewing. I took them from 6th grad until my second year of HS. That's when i went on a one woman protest to get into woodshop. and i did it. I learned how to use boy toys. and i love it. i built all of my kitchen cabnets. they have european hinges, and all the bottom cabinets have drawers. no bending over and crawling in for me. i have made bookshelves and tables and all kinds of fun things. My hobby makes male mouths drop. [Wink]
Sandy

#36324 - 07/30/03 03:18 AM Re: boy toys
jawjaw Offline
Da Queen

Loc: Alabama
[Eek!] Wow SP,
That is really cool that you can do all of that. I am thoroughly impressed! What forsight you had to learn that at an early age and just kept learning. I do envy you. I can change a lightbulb...that's about it.

Your hobby makes my jigsaw puzzle thingy look kinda lame...

You are definitely my new hero.

#36325 - 08/06/03 06:58 PM Re: boy toys
Sandy Offline

I think that at an early age I relized that this world of mine was run by men. and i relized that I needed to be like them to survive. I had to think like them in order to be me. I'm good with my hands. I would not want to do woodworking for a living. It is very time consuming. Most people think that it is easy and cheap to do. It's cheap if the labor is free. But i'm not free, I'm expensive. And worth it. [Wink]
So I don't sell the things I make. I give them away. I want special people in my life to have something from me. Something OF ME.