The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 92 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#129150 - 10/11/07 09:03 PM Another newbie with pre-retirement jitters
Nan Offline

Hi

I have just found this group and it looks like a very comfortable place. I am a professional woman, struggling with the decision to retire. Any advice will be welcome. My DH is retired and quite frankly, I am worried that the house won't be big enough for two retired folk. I have been in a responsible position and used to getting a fairly high level of respect and lots of decision making power. I guess I'm a little concerned about being a "homemaker" again.

Any advice ?

Nan in Ontario

Edited by Nan (10/11/07 09:05 PM)

#129151 - 10/11/07 09:03 PM Re: Another newbie with pre-retirement jitters [Re: Nan]
Nan Offline

Nan in Ontario

#129152 - 10/11/07 10:25 PM Re: Another newbie with pre-retirement jitters [Re: Nan]
Dotsie Offline
Founder

Loc: Maryland
Nan, welcome to BWS. I was with a friends last night. One is retiring in a year and another is launching her own business next year. BOomers are all over the map with this retirement situation. The majority of people that I know that are retiring are considering another type of career that is somehow tying in what they love with making money at the same time.

Please visit www.nabbw.com and browse our articles about retirement. Jan Cullinane is our Retirement expert. I recommend her book, The New Retirement. The second edition was just released in August.

I hope you'll stick around and let us get to know you more.

#129153 - 10/12/07 12:26 AM Re: Another newbie with pre-retirement jitters
dancer9 Offline

Loc: Arizona