As for the writing process. First I’d like to write a few words as to what it isn’t, and then I’ll write more about what it is! And, I’m not good at generalizing for others, so this is just my personal experience with the writing process. The genesis for writing began when I produced sayings for cards for my mother because she was frequently sick. In 3rd grade I wrote a poem, which left a life-long impression on me about creativity: making something from nothing, and using words to boot! I wrote about what I loved, such as nature and animals. In 4th grade I started keeping a diary, but was too afraid of someone finding it to continue. I loved words and read the dictionary in 5th grade for a past time! I also loved to read, and loved books so much I would sleep with them by my pillow. When I was 12/13 I wrote book reports for my older brother, who had a job and went to school, so had little time. I was very concerned about vocabulary and punctuation. He got A’s for those reports and told me I had a talent, but I did not believe it was a talent because it seemed to come easily to me. (Math, on the other hand, caused nightmares because it was so hard!) I also had difficulty writing about summer vacations; that’s when I fictionalized what really happened at my father’s house. For example, instead of writing that I witnessed him beating my stepmother, I would write about a dress I had made as a burgeoning fashion diva. I wrote dark poetry in high school, some of which is in the book. I wonder if I would have written in another genre had my life not been altered by abusive events. Those abusive events caused a block in this way: I suddenly became afraid to write even term papers because if I started writing, what secret might sneak onto the page? When I was 15 I read a book titled “The Muckrakers” which was about social workers and journalists exposing child labor and helping to create laws to protect children. That’s when I knew that I wanted to write about the truth and