LTWW;
Disclaimer: The following comments and opinions are those of One person, who has had published One work of fiction. Having said that, this mystery novel took 4 yrs to write/rewrite, 2 yrs to shop it around, and another 2 yrs to refine/finalize, once a pub house was acquired. So, I have had a bit of experience...

Since your previous professions and background indicate a heavy skill-set with writing, written and spoken English language skills, etc., it seems you already possess the ability to QC your own work, that is, to make sure it is grammatically correct, punctuated correctly, etc. However, the type of editing that is the removal of superfluous words, redundancy, reduction/elimination of adjectives, condensation/consolidation/cuts, etc., is usually something a new author doesn't have experience with. (Ha! previous sentence is improperly constructed :), but then, I'm a fiction writer, so it just doesn't matter!) So, I guess it depends on what kind of editing you're looking to have done to your work. I know that my one humble little fiction book was worked and reworked and reworked, by me, quite successfully (Rev F was the final). As it happens, I'm a technical writer by profession, so I'm pretty good with QC editing, and over the course of numerous revisions, was able to develop a cold-blooded-ness about slashing words. By the time the manuscript got to a real editor at a real publisher, the only type of editing it needed was the aforementioned "cut and consolidate" type. Otherwise, I don't think they'd have been interested. That type of editing (cut/consolidate) was done very well by the Editor at the publication house and was part of what they did for me. So, perhaps you'd be OK with letting the iUniverse person cover that aspect (while you handle the QC aspect), saving yourself a lot of $$.