MamaRed, most technical writers are like you. For me, once the "geek" day is done, I don't want to look at or touch my computer. Many many many tech writers I have worked with or known through the years have that capacity to go from geekdom to having the creative, free-spirited side. It's a quality that does make us successful in this career. You are able to pull yourself from the nitty gritty details to be able to make something terribly dull, boring, and detailed exciting and come to life for a non-technical person.

The truth be told, I haven't been to an STC conference in five years LOL. I'm still active in the org, but basically enough to maintain membership and contacts through SIGs and two Ohio chapters.

I work and teach. I work for pay by writing documentation for a firm that does virtual reality and animation/simulation for training, conferencing, and commercial purposes. By night I am an unpaid adult tech ed instructor for a local church/United Way organization. It's an organization that provide free or low-cost job skill training and GED education for underprivileged individuals/families.