The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 186 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#37150 - 01/09/03 08:08 AM I'm an author of Women's Fiction
Vicki M. Taylor Offline

Loc: Tampa, FL
Hi Everyone!

I write dramatic women's fiction and I'd be very happy to answer questions about writing.... from the query letter, to the synopsis, to even questions about writing the book.

don't be shy, just ask away!

[ January 08, 2003, 12:09 PM: Message edited by: Vicki M. Taylor ]

#37151 - 01/24/03 06:11 AM Re: I'm an author of Women's Fiction
lionspaaw Offline

Loc: SW Florida
What's the first step? Do you find a publisher and see what they want or do you write a book and try to find a publisher? Do you find an editor or will a publisher do the editing if they like the bulk of the book?

Thanks ;-)

#37152 - 01/24/03 07:48 AM Re: I'm an author of Women's Fiction
Vicki M. Taylor Offline

first step is to write your book. Then, once it's written, find someone you trust who can edit it. Another author, a critique partner, etc. Then, once you've polished your manuscript, you'll want to do one of a couple of things, or both. Send query letters to publishers who accept unagented queries and queries to agents. If you query an agent, what you're asking is for them to take you on as a client and then they help you find a publisher.

Usually, publishers will edit also, but you must send them as clean a manuscript as possible after they've asked to see it.

For a first time author, you must have your manuscript finished first. No publisher will take you on without it finished. They can't afford that kind of investment.

I hope that helps.

#37153 - 01/24/03 07:25 PM Re: I'm an author of Women's Fiction
lionspaaw Offline