The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 181 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#194875 - 11/30/09 08:10 AM Job = not enough money
katebcca Offline

Loc: Victoria BC Canada
I have a dilemma.

I have been working for the same company for 10 years. I used to make good money but the economy has taken it's toll on many industries, publishing included. I have a medical/dental plan that saves me money so have hung in there for that and hoping things will improve.

Lately things have become worse. I don't make enough to pay all of my expenses and have gone into credit card debt.

My solution was to get another job. I work from home so going out to do something else part of the day would work.

It was suggested by an acqaintence that I should get into the insurance business as I am in sales already and have experience. What I did not think about is that this job is commission based like my magazine job. I really should have found a job that paid a salary. Two commission jobs may not have been the best choice.

I have to make cold calls and build my insurance business on my own. Being so stressed out over finances has caused me to panic as I have kids to support. You have to be up in sales. I can't contact people when I am in a desperate state. At least I can't.

Now I'm wondering if I should just put the insurance job on hold and go get a paying job to supplement my income. It would have to be part-time but it would still be better than making nothing which is what I am making now.