The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 151 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Page 6 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#163339 - 10/20/08 07:47 PM Re: Current economy affecting you? [Re: Dancing Dolphin]
orchid Offline

Loc: British Columbia, Canada
I am a librarian with my Master's in Library Science. However these days librarians design/update databases, website (their company's or library's), monitor digital news, plus may do some of the traditional stuff.

They also work in records management which is what I am doing now.

#163349 - 10/20/08 10:35 PM Re: Current economy affecting you? [Re: orchid]
jawjaw Offline
Da Queen

Loc: Alabama
Orchid, my sister was the same thing. She retired a few years ago. If anybody thinks this is an easy field to study, think again. It's a very hard, but worthy occupation. I wish I had gone further in it sometimes rather than a Business degree.

But the money is good in both fields!

#163357 - 10/21/08 02:23 AM Re: Current economy affecting you? [Re: Dancing Dolphin]
gims Offline

Loc: USA
Originally Posted By: Dancing Dolphin
I've told my husband that my ideal retirement place is one where I can walk and use public transportation, then rent a car or fly somewhere for longer trips.

DD, I'm thinking on those very same lines.... I wish I was around the corner from the library and post office... working at either would be great, but I'd want to live close enough to walk. Our downtown is ALL lawyers and restaurants, along with a small (but developing) art community. I'd love to live near it, and work at the courthouse, but DH loves the country. Not that I don't. When I'm here, it's like heaven. But, getting places is a pain... !!!