The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 162 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#161548 - 10/02/08 02:37 PM Current economy affecting you?
Dancing Dolphin Offline

Loc: Southern California
So how is the state of our current economy directly affecting you? Just this week, it has hit me hard.

I am a website designer and do a lot of redesigns for clients. One client I've worked with for 11 years had scheduled a re-design of their site, but just yesterday said the money is not in the budget this year. They are a manufacturer and their sales have become quite flat.

Another client (Custom cabinet maker) that I did a tiny website for last year wanted a redesign and larger site this year. Also found out yesterday that they had to lay off 30 people and now will be postponing that redesign of their website.

This will greatly reduce my expected income for the rest of 2008, and will trickle down to all the restaurants I won't be visiting, the clothes I won't be buying, etc.

How has the current economy affected you?

Kathy

#161561 - 10/02/08 03:13 PM Re: Current economy affecting you? [Re: Dancing Dolphin]
jawjaw Offline
Da Queen

Loc: Alabama
It has made me fully aware of my indulgences and overspending and helped me to get back in line with my budgets.

I has helped me to find new ways to "cut back" where needed or necessary (see sentence above) and helped me to stretch my imagination in finding ways to be more frugal, or self-sufficient.

It has helped me to take that first step in learning how to grow herbs at home.

It has helped me to learn how to divide my already mature plants, replant them in pretty pots that I've painted and give them as gifts, instead of running to Wally World.