Happy Mother's Day

Posted by: countrygirl51

Happy Mother's Day - 05/11/03 03:46 PM

I hope all of you that are Mothers..and I think most of you are...have a wonderful Mother's Day today..take it easy and have some fun. You deserve it. I know I plan to.
Dennis and I are going to a trap shoot later this morning, then we will go to my parents home on the farm where I grew up. My sister will be there from Nebraska. I haven't seen her in several months.
Happy Mother's Day all!
Posted by: Dotsie

Re: Happy Mother's Day - 05/11/03 04:03 PM

Thanks! Hope you enjoy your sister's visit. Sounds like a fun day.

I am heading to church with my hubby and 3 kids. Mother's Day is always Youth Sunday and the youth do the whole service. It is one of my favorites. [Wink]
Posted by: 40something

Re: Happy Mother's Day - 05/15/03 05:36 PM

Mother's Day was a challenge for me this year. My mom died in March of this year. (I had been caring for her in my home for 4 years, and many years before that when she lived by herself. I was an only child, so I had all the responsibility on me.) I planned a busy day for Mother's Day, which was helpful, and several good friends called or sent cards, which I was very grateful for.
Because I had been caregiving for sooo long, it feels very weird now. It's almost like my child died. I definitely am "out of a job", as I've heard other caregivers say when their parent(s) have died. There is the whole "orphan" feeling, too, because both of my parents are gone now.
Soemtimes I feel like I have been through the "war", and survived it. I feel like I could write a book on caregiving! I know it takes a long
time to heal, and I am definitely on that road. The thoughts and prayers of my close friends have definitely been healing.
Posted by: lionspaaw

Re: Happy Mother's Day - 05/19/03 03:08 AM

Our situation is different -- but the emotions you're experiencing are very familiar.