Current economy affecting you?

Posted by: Dancing Dolphin

Current economy affecting you? - 10/02/08 02:37 PM

So how is the state of our current economy directly affecting you? Just this week, it has hit me hard.

I am a website designer and do a lot of redesigns for clients. One client I've worked with for 11 years had scheduled a re-design of their site, but just yesterday said the money is not in the budget this year. They are a manufacturer and their sales have become quite flat.

Another client (Custom cabinet maker) that I did a tiny website for last year wanted a redesign and larger site this year. Also found out yesterday that they had to lay off 30 people and now will be postponing that redesign of their website.

This will greatly reduce my expected income for the rest of 2008, and will trickle down to all the restaurants I won't be visiting, the clothes I won't be buying, etc.

How has the current economy affected you?

Kathy
Posted by: jawjaw

Re: Current economy affecting you? - 10/02/08 03:13 PM

It has made me fully aware of my indulgences and overspending and helped me to get back in line with my budgets.

I has helped me to find new ways to "cut back" where needed or necessary (see sentence above) and helped me to stretch my imagination in finding ways to be more frugal, or self-sufficient.

It has helped me to take that first step in learning how to grow herbs at home.

It has helped me to learn how to divide my already mature plants, replant them in pretty pots that I've painted and give them as gifts, instead of running to Wally World.

It has helped me to think more "homemade" this year for Christmas, again...stretching the imagination and wanting to try new things. Anybody every made the Santas out of old lightbulbs? I've saved a bunch of them and can't wait to try it! It's a keepsake that I'll share with my grandchildren, building them together! Wuhoo!

So for me, it's been altering. It's opened my eyes to many other possibilities.