In answer to Dotsie’s question… “Am I right in saying that you weren't a writer when this brainstorm took off?” Sorry, you are not right. I’ve been a writer since I could hold a pencil. Seriously. My first freelance articles were published in Cosmopolitan Magazine, Redbook, Ladies Home Journal, Shape, and others. I also wrote press releases, brochures, funding grants, and a ga-zillion other things in my career as a professional fundraiser. I was also the Playwright-in-Residence for three years at a small theatre in southern California where three of my full length plays were produced. So, I’ve been writing for a very long time. But God Allows U-Turns was my first book project.

In response to your experience, Dotsie, with the baby boomer women anthology…I can understand this, because compilation books are a very hard sell in both the CBA and ABA publishing communities. Unless you are a “Soup” book, chances are you won’t sell enough copies to make it a worthwhile venture for a publisher, at least this is what they tend to think.

What helped me with u-turns was my speaking platform. This is so vital these days when a publisher is considering a first-time author. Can you speak and what is your platform?

I would imagine now that the NABBW site has had its first year anniversary, you are in a stronger place to develop and pitch an anthology. Connect with me off the loop and let’s talk more about this, okay? I have some ideas…

Jane asked a question that gets asked a great deal in the industry and it’s really an easy answer when you give it some serious thought. Think about it…how long does a writer have that “first book” inside of them? Days, weeks, months, years, or decades? I would hazard to guess it is usually, and quite typically, in the category of years or decades.