The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 167 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Topic Options
#81513 - 06/18/06 10:05 PM Moving to college
sammom Offline

Loc: Washington State
So, since I'm new to this and have read a bit of the posts I thought I would add a subject related to empty nest. My son is moving across country to attend college, he' an only. Any advice of what/how to pack him up? Along with getting him to understand he made a choice that makes it not possible to have a spiffy dorm room.

#81514 - 06/18/06 10:38 PM Re: Moving to college
jawjaw Offline
Da Queen

Loc: Alabama
Are you asking what to send along with him? Things he may need? If so, right off the bat I would say a calling card. You can pick them up at any Wal-mart.

A good reading lamp (for studying)is another good item to donate, along with postage stamps so he can write home and say, "send money."

JJ

#81515 - 06/18/06 10:41 PM Re: Moving to college
yonuh Offline

Loc: Arizona
When each of my sons went off to the military, I gave them pre-addressed stamped postcards with various messages on the writing side. Things like: I got here safely, send money, send food, etc. After those ran out, they had already got in the habit of writing or calling.

#81516 - 06/20/06 10:18 AM Re: Moving to college
sammom Offline

Thanks for the ideas; won't have to worry about a calling card as we have cell phones. I figure he probably won't "write" as such, just call (free minutes on mobile to mobile) and email. At least I hope he emails...