The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 178 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Topic Options
#218003 - 10/20/12 08:18 PM Women Boomers and Shared Housing
portland2636 Offline

Hi, I am wondering if anyone knows of shared housing websites for boomer women looking for shared housing for those pending retirement? I have an advanced degree with grown kids but having gone through a messy divorce, I no longer have adequate income ( nor do I want to) live alone. Looking for like minded individuals who are fit, like NPR, good food and meaningful friendships as we enter the third phase of our lives.

#218004 - 10/20/12 10:07 PM Re: Women Boomers and Shared Housing [Re: portland2636]
Anne Holmes Administrator Offline
Boomer in Chief

Loc: Illinois
Hi Portland2636 and welcome to our forum. Thanks for stopping by and asking a great question. I hope you will get a good discussion going here -- and that you will stick around and spend some time with us on a regular basis.

As I understand it, the concept of shared living for adults is sometimes known as "co-ho" -- sort for "Communal Home-ownership" -- and it operates similarly to the dynamic of that old TV show, "The Golden Girls."

Except that in that show, I think one housemate -- Blanche Devereaux -- owned the house, while the other three, Dorothy Zbornak, Sophia Petrillo, and Rose Nylund paid her rent.

In the newer "co-ho" concept, as I understand it, the home ownership is shared by non-related adults.

I first heard of this back in 2008 and at that time I wrote a post about it in my blog, "BoomerLifestyle.com.

I just checked this post to see if it could offer you any help, and I discovered that some of the links in it have gone bad. So I guess that means I need to update that post.