The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 146 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#206730 - 08/11/10 10:31 AM High school in the late 60's, early 70's
dejavu Offline
journeyman

I'll soon be attending my 40th high school reunion, it doesn't seem possible that 40 years have gone by so quickly.

However, between catching up with old classmates, leafing through my yearbook, and playing some of my high school fave songs, I've been remembering a lot of things.

I graduated in 1970. My senior year was the first year we girls were allowed to wear slacks (SLACKS, not JEANS) to class. Before that, we had to wear dresses or skirts every day. I remember vividly waiting for the bus in the early Michigan-winter mornings, feeling that cold air draft while wearing my short (above the knee) skirts!

#206731 - 08/11/10 10:38 AM Re: High school in the late 60's, early 70's [Re: dejavu]
dejavu Offline
journeyman

I also remember Heaven-Sent perfume, 'poorboy' shirts, Mary Quant baby-doll dresses and maxi-dresses. I remember senior boys coming to school looking sick the day after the draft lottery. I remember Dynel wigs (it's not fake, it's real DYNEL). My senior prom dress was SO modest compared to the ones they wear now, high-waisted and ruffle-necked, blue chiffon and lace. I remember going to see the big blockbuster movie, "Airport".

One of the songs that really takes me back, The Carpenters singing "Close to You".

At the time of high school graduation, I was 2 months away from turning 18, and only 3 months and six days away from meeting the man I would marry and am still married to. Who'd have guessed?

Carolyn

#206733 - 08/12/10 03:15 AM Re: High school in the late 60's, early 70's [Re: dejavu]