The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 157 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Topic Options
#175236 - 02/20/09 02:08 PM From Dianne on behalf of DV victim
Dotsie Offline
Founder

Loc: Maryland
Ladies, this is a letter that our Dianne at www.eadv.net received on bahlf of a woman who has been in jail due to a domestic violence situation that happend many years ago. Please read and if you feel moved, write a letter. Thanks!

Good Afternoon,

My name is Joyce Hahn, and I am a law student at USC. I work with the Post-Conviction Justice Project representing women incarcerated at the California Institution for Women (CIW) in Chino, California. Although we have many clients, one client's story, who was a victim of domestic violence, has profoundly impacted the way I approach the law and my life. She is the reason I am writing to you today.

Connie Keel is a survivor of domestic violence. As a child, adolescent, and young adult, Connie Keel was neglected and physically abused by her mother, sexually abused by uncles, neighbors, and friends, and then regularly beaten (and even raped) by her husband. A California Board of Parole Hearings investigation substantiated her stories of abuse through interviews with her family and friends and those of her ex-husband

Connie has been incarcerated since 1981 because she sat in a car, terrified for her life, while her armed, abusive husband and his cousin made a spur-of-the-moment decision to rob a liquor store and shoot the clerk. Even though Ms. Keel did not enter the store, fire the gun, or actually commit the robbery or murder, she is still behind bars, nearly 30 years later.