My Book Is Out!

Posted by: mattie123

My Book Is Out! - 04/14/06 05:52 AM

Hi Everyone,
I am so thrilled, I just have to tell all of you...that my novel, "The Perfect Dress" just got published. I held the first copy in my hand today.
It took me 17 months to write!
I self-published using a P.O.D. I had no intentions of going through editors, agents and denial letters after learning about the field of writing. But, I am so proud of myself. I designed the cover, I choose the colors, I used my words, I edited my words with help in the english department, of course but I did not have to "settle" with the vast wishes of a traditional publisher. I must say, I can't compare the accomplishment to much of anything I have ever done before. Come to think of it, I have never done anything by myself before- a creation, all my own words and thoughts on paper for the entire world to read. It is awsome.
My dream was to write ever since I was a child. I never did it though, I had too many other things to do like work for food.
I have a website which is: www.thebookperfectdress.com I invite you to check it out..I also invite any feedback about my book..
The book is a boomer book and most women will be able to identify with the main character- a fictional account spanning 30 years of one female's attempt to find that perfect catch. It is also about the bridal and fashion world that she is involved with.
I am now writing my second novel called "Strays".
I hope anyone out there that wants to write does so. If you do a page a day, you can have an entire book completed in a year. It is a great feeling of sheer, personal accomplishment to be able to share words with my peers. If this is something you have wanted to do, just start writing! Good luck!
Thank's for listening to me ramble on and on - no one else would!
Posted by: TVC15

Re: My Book Is Out! - 04/14/06 04:40 PM

Congratulations Mattie! What a thrill to hold your own book in your hands!
Posted by: chatty lady