Von Willebrand disease

Posted by: GJAX

Von Willebrand disease - 06/28/08 12:07 PM

after 3 months of not having my period I got the red tide so to speak. I bleed for a month straight. after discussing this with my DR and some blood test done I found out I had Von willebrand. has anyone else ever heard of this disease? I never did till the results came back.
Posted by: Jane_Carroll

Re: Von Willebrand disease - 06/28/08 12:34 PM

I know that it is a bleeding disorder not as severe as hemaphillia (?). I had never heard of it until last year and one of my students (I'm a school nurse) has it and we take precautions if he gets a bump or cut, etc. by applying pressure and ice.

Have you had symptoms of excessive bleeding in the past from bumps and cuts?
Posted by: GJAX

Re: Von Willebrand disease - 06/28/08 01:31 PM

Hi Jane. the only thing is through the years my periods have been pretty heavy. more so these past couple years. also I started to develope what my DR calls cherry spots. I have been noticing lately that I bruise easy too. never really bleed alot when i'd got a cut. i'm also anemic wheather that has anything to do with it I just dont know.
Posted by: chatty lady

Re: Von Willebrand disease - 06/28/08 07:57 PM

Google it Anne, theres stuff on the internet about it...
Posted by: chickadee

Re: Von Willebrand disease - 06/29/08 03:29 AM

GJAX, my sister has VW. She never uses a sharp knife( it's funny watching her peel potatoes sometimes) and avoids picking up broken glass or anything that could puncture/ pierce the skin. Apart from that, she is not on any meds or anything.
I. on the other hand, need a deep cut in order to bleed. But I bruise very easily.
Posted by: chatty lady

Re: Von Willebrand disease - 06/29/08 09:05 PM