online dating sites

Posted by: Dotsie

online dating sites - 02/20/06 10:46 PM

Do any of you single women use the online dating sites to meet people, or if you are married or in a relationship, did you?

Due to the nature of my site, I continue to receive information about more and more of them popping up online for boomers.

Do you have any favorites?

Why, or why don't you use them?

www.fiftyplusconnect.com is advertising on BWS. Miriam is the site owner and she is delightful.
Posted by: Doctor Karen

Re: online dating sites - 02/21/06 09:13 AM

Hi Dotsie, Well, I think I qualify as a mini-expert at least. I've been doing the online dating thing for almost 3 years. Haven't found Mr. Right but met some nice gentlemen. I'm 62 so the field is somewhat limited.

I've used Match.com and Yahoo Personals. One of the issues for some of the smaller sites is that there isn't anyone in your own area, whereas with the big ones there are always dozens who live nearby. Now that doesn't mean they want YOU!

I've probably gone on first dates with three dozen men over the 3 years (most initiated by my letter to them). A handful turned into brief relationships and one lasted 8 months (the first!).

I have learned a tremendous amount about dating and men, especially at this phase of life. Men probably have it much easier in the online world--many consider it a "candy store" and never settle down with one person since they get so much attention from so many women.

For example, I've had 4 first "meets" in the past 2 months--I was interested in all 4 but the first 3 disappeared after the first meet (this is not for the faint of heart...men just can't tell you directly that they don't like you, so they just disappear after saying things that sound like they're interested).